War Journal 72: F&SF

What up small yet loyal fanbase and random passersby!  I’ve been behind-the-scenesing it, subbing my stuff, fine tuning other stuff, playing PlayStation VR to increase my pedigree for otherworldly accuracy, and a bunch of ad nauseums y’all probably don’t care about or can look in the mirror and see yourself doing.  We caught up?  Let’s get to the news!

Cat ate my name in headlines

Cat ate my name in headlines

I’m in the current issue of Fantasy & Science Fiction.  My story “The Rhythm Man” is about a bluesman, a train, mojo spirit juju, pitching woo and a horn that needs tuning, all set to a beat.  You’ll see what I mean  when you read it.  So go ahead and cop the issue.  You don’t have a subscription to F&SF, you say?  Try it free for 30 days I retort!

Although that’s my biggest news because it’s a brand new story you guys couldn’t have possibly read yet, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention a reprint that recently got rereleased.  What am I saying?  I’m already remiss… this thing’s been out for like two months now!  Any of you remember “A Lack of Charity”, a story about this demon powered, vengeance hungry, buick driving badass that got published with Triangulation?  If that all sounds foreign, you can check it out in the rerelease with Mysterion: Rediscovering the Mysteries of the Christian Faith.  The did a great job editing, and I think the Mysterion version reads a bit tighter and tauter.  Excuse me while I insert a tantalizing pic.

Gate guardian ate my name in headlines

Gate guardian ate my name in headlines

That’s about all I got. F&SF is a personal milestone in terms of sidequests… I’ve always wanted to get published with these cats. I aim to do it again because I had a blast working with their editor, C.C. Finlay.  Again, check it out (no reason not to for at least a month) and let me know how you dug it.

4 Comments

Filed under War Journals

4 responses to “War Journal 72: F&SF

  1. Anonymous

    James,
    Great to hear about F&SF. That is really impressive, not that I haven’t always expected a lot from your writing. I’m a subscriber, so I will see it.

    Ed Kratz

    • Ed! Buddy! When you say you always expected a lot, you mean it… you were definitely one of the first to follow me. I’m glad you hung out with me in these trenches all this time and I hope you dig the Rhythm Man!

  2. Wendy Dye

    Just read Rhythm Man and had to look you up. Wow. Really wonderful stuff. I look forward to more of your work.

Leave a Reply

