War Journal 68: Leapolution II

I looked this good 4 years ago... the hell have I been eating?

I looked this good 4 years ago… the hell have I been eating?

Leap Day!  Some of you, two handfuls in fact, remember the last time I posted on Leap Day.  It only comes once every four years, so that first time I wanted to catch my blog in its infancy and see how it grew the next time Leap Day rolled around.

For the many more that are new, here were the stats back then:

I was in Afghanistan.  That kinda sucked.

I had 2 out of 3 pro sales to make SFWA qualifications.  I would later learn that one of those sales didn’t count.  At the time, that sucked even worse than Afghanistan.

I had 16 subscribers.  16!

I had a fierce thirst for more.

Now, four years later, and the only thing that’s still constant is the thirst!  Current subscriber count is 169, which is awesome.  I’m SFWA recognized.  I’ve sold 12 stories at pro pay to places such as Intergalactic Medicine Show, Daily Science Fiction, AE: The Canadian SF Review (making me an international player!) and the Unidentified Funny Objects anthology.  Speaking of, I also became an associate editor, directly affecting the landscape of speculative fiction comedy.  And it kinda rocks reading the work of other writers in the trenches, trying to get their funny on while battling the slush.

Who knows where we’ll be the next Leap Day.  Maybe 1699 followers and a book deal?  Your man can hope.

In the meanwhile, thanks for hanging out with a brother.  It’d be a lot lonelier in the trenches without you.

6 Comments

Filed under War Journals

6 responses to “War Journal 68: Leapolution II

  1. This was my blog’s first Leap Day. I posted today, not for posterity, but because I try to post at least one entry per month and I hadn’t yet fulfilled that miniscule quota for February. Without a leap day, I’d have failed that remit for the very first time. Skin of my teeth…

  2. Ed Kratz

    James,
    Good to hear of your success. Looking forward to your new publications. I’ve been following this site for a while, so I can say I got in on the ground floor, or close to it.

    Ed

  3. Brandon Seay

    James, I remember chatting with you in Balad six years ago about your addiction. I’m glad it’s still going strong!

  4. rochellethereader

    Read one of you stories online–and you have a new fan. Like the way you humor infuses your speculative fiction.

Leave a Reply

