Blog Tour: #My Writing Process

My Writing Process is an ongoing blog hop where a writer answers four basic questions about their writing process and then is asked to pass the baton to two more authors.  I was invited to the party by up and coming writer Eleanor Wood. Check her out at http://creativepanoply.wordpress.com/.  And check my answers out below.

What am I working on?

First and foremost, I’m writing the third book of my trilogy.  After working on the first two books for a couple of years now, it feels good to be close to finishing this story.  Beyond that, I need to write a story, my last hurrah for Writers of the Future before my next published story renders me ineligible to compete.  It’s coming to Intergalactic Medicine Show in September and once that happens, I’ll no longer be able to hide all these pro sells behind them being flash or not from an SFWA approved market.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I’m a black dude, which gives me a different perspective on probably a lot of stuff.  How many black dudes you know write spec fic?  We’re like unicorns up in SFWA.  Plus I’m funny.  Sometimes the two of these come together in my work.  Funny science fiction and fantasy written from a black perspective.  That’s different right?  Although some of my best loved stories are neither funny nor written with my background in mind.

Why do I write what I do?

The way I figure it, no one else is gonna.  If it’s an idea I get really excited about, then there’s a big chance that I’ve never heard it before or seen it the way I’m envisioning it.  So if I’m seeing a story no one else has dropped and I don’t write it, how am I gonna see how it ends?  It’s all nebulous until that final period makes the story definite.

How does my writing process work?

It begins with a cup of coffee.  It ends with a story I’m happy enough to submit to markets across the world.  In between it’s really me just typing some idea that’s either touching to my soul or too dumb to leave alone.  Rhymes unintentional.  I’ll tell you I’m a pantser until the story runs too long to not have an outline.  I do not subscribe to any established method such as snowflake because I fear any formula will make my writing feel formulaic.  And the only formula I’m down for is Tang.  What is in that stuff?!

#

Those are my answers.  There are many like them but those ones are mine.  I encourage you to check out the answers of two of my friend and fellow spec fic writers, who’ll share their secrets with you next Monday:

Toss Alex Shvartsman a deck of Magic cards and ask “What is best in life?” and you’ll see him snatch that deck out of the air and reply “To crush your enemies, see them driven before you and hear the lamentations of their women!” Many wars and feuds did Conan I mean Shvartsman fight. Honor and fear were heaped upon his name and, in time, he became a king by his own hand… which is why he owns and operates Kings Games.
Writes? Yeah he does that too… a lot of it. He was probably the most prolific writer of 2013. He treats everything like a competition, and if getting awesome stories published was a competition, he would’ve won. His own cat hates him. He lives in Brooklyn, where he designs games and edits Unidentified Funny Objects, the premiere annual anthology of humorous SF/F. His fiction is linked at Alex Shvartsman’s Speculative Fiction

#

Antha Ann Adkins lives in Friendswood, Texas with her husband, two children, and an ever-growing collection of books. Her stories have been published in Perihelion SF, Interstellar Fiction, Goldfish Grimm’s Spicy Fiction Sushi, and The Town Drunk. She blogs about Space & Aliens, her favorite things to write about, at acubedsf.com.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Blog Tour: #My Writing Process

Leave a Reply

