The Light Crusader’s Dark Dessert up at IGMS!

Since I got so much Internet now and all, I think it’s worth using a little bit of it to tell everybody that my story “The Light Crusader’s Dark Dessert” is now live at Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show.  Check out the artwork!

light-crusaders-dark-dessert

Light Crusader’s the story about life at the near end of the world, when virtually all the gods from every culture return to claim dominance over Earth and each other.  It’s one of my favorite pieces to date, full of mythos and moxy.  Check out how people get by in a world carved up and divided like Thanksgiving turkey in the Balkans.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The Light Crusader’s Dark Dessert up at IGMS!

  1. I gotta log in to IGMS and tell it to download the latest issue to my kindle, but I’m really looking forward to reading it. Congrats!

    • Thanks! Meanwhile, I hope you enjoy the story… lemme know what you think 🙂

      • Okay, first of all, I love that you managed, in this time of zombie hatin’ in short stories, that you managed to get zombies into your story. Hats off. To include them as a necessary side effect of having an Egyptian god of death parading around town is what made it work, I think. My favorite character was Moses. I think it was a little stroke of brilliance to use Moses metaphors to substitute the usual gun lingo. Also, I get the feeling you put just a little of yourself in the main character. He’s wandering around, battle zone to battle zone, then he gets to come back home and its bitter and sweet at the same time. Yeah, good stuff.

  2. Damn.

    The artwork for this piece is excellent. I’m definitely reading this one. Congrats!

  3. Really pleased this one found such a great home! Huge congrats.

  4. This short story was featured in the Not-A-Hugo-Sampler Sampler Issue this year, and I read through all of the short stories (minus the audio one). I thoroughly enjoyed your short story, as did my husband after I insisted he read it. I would have to say it was my favorite of the collection. The way you mixed very different genres together was masterfully done. Most attempts to do this would come off as very jarring, but you blended them together into a very cohesive story. The “Moses” analogies were hilarious, and the interlude with Terra was beautiful. Jake and Alex were both well-developed, with your supporting cast as 3D as any reader could desire. My husband especially would like to know if you’ve written anything more in this setting, or with Jake Tamerlane (is that a reference to Poe? To the Persian king?). It appears that most of your work is short fiction – I know we, at least, would be interested in purchasing any novels you were to write in this world.

  5. Pingback: War Journal 65: Return of the Light Crusader | fictigristle

Leave a Reply

