War Journal 31: Old Yearn, New Cheers

I expect the ride through 2012 to be this fly.

It’s a new year, but it’s the still the same war in the trenches.

My novel is almost ready to hit the pavement, holding up a “Will Work for Publication” sign.  I’m already working on a second novel, since the first one was so fun.  Just today, I took a break from Chapter 7 because I like taking breaks and because I had a totally irrelevant idea that I wanted to write.
SFWA Pro credit is around the corner, but only if I bang out the occasional short story.
The turn of the new year sees my street cred go up a notch.  I won Semi-Finalist in the Writers of the Future Contest.  My story “The Homeless Man of Greater Zimbabwe” is available now courtesy of The Colored Lens.  My first pro sale, “Saviors” debuts today at Daily Science Fiction.  However, only those who have signed up for DSF emails can see it now.  Everyone else has to wait a week or so.
I have a few more stories coming down the pipeline to screens near you.  Not a lot, cause with my Internet singing its death throes every time I log on, I don’t shop around my stories as much as I’d like.  But still, there’s a few choice selections coming in the future that will keep my fans… both of them… arguing about the nature of my genius for a little while.
Last year saw a lot of near misses.  Mostly because it’s so hard to follow the MZB formula.  Guess I’m not as hungry for pro credit as I thought… I’m still writing what I like to write despite current market trends.
For those of you who loitered here by way of DSF, welcome to fictigristle… one fledgling writer’s chronicled attempt to play with the pros.  Feel free to check out my other stories at other sites (posted in the Links About Me section… mostly in my Amazon page), or gloss over some of my other posts.
You’d be surprised at my traffic stats.  Like a big percentage of my viewers, come for the picture of cats mating.  Stay for the trench gristle.

It’s 2012 everybody.  That makes it better than the first 11 that came before it, right?

5 Comments

Filed under War Journals

5 responses to “War Journal 31: Old Yearn, New Cheers

  1. Pingback: Solitary Mindset » Blog Archive » Why Did My Story Get Rejected? » Solitary Mindset

  2. Mariel Herbert

    I just read your DSF story while waiting for a delayed flight. And I enjoyed it enough to comment: keep churning out short fiction & get that SFWA Pro status. Thanks. Also, congrats on the semifinalist place in WOTF.

  3. Hi,

    Apologies for the off-topic comment, but I couldn’t find a contact email for you.

    I recently put out an ebook of my writing, called ‘The New Death and others’. It’s a collection of short pieces, mostly dark fantasy.

    I was wondering if you’d be interested in doing a review on your blog.

    If so, please email me: [email withheld for privacy]. Let me know what file format is easiest for you, and I’ll send you a free copy.

    You can download a sample from the ebook’s page on Smashwords:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/92126

    I’m also happy to do interviews, guest posts, or giveaways. Just let me know what you’d prefer.

    Yours,
    James.

    • Just when I was about to post new content! haha. Well, I went ahead and warned James Hutchings that my review would be honest. With that said, look forward to this as an Intelligence Report in the near future

Leave a Reply

