War Journal 27: New and Improved same old thing

It's like this with a keyboard

I’ve been in Afghanistan for a little while now, and don’t it feel like a long while!  Seriously though, it’s deployment… and every deployment has the same feel to it.  The days run into each other, the meals are about as memorable as the disposable paper plates you eat them from, and you long for vacation.  Deployments are useful if you channel the time.  Now that I’m well acclimated to Afghanistan’s special brand of suck, it’s time to start writing again.

I actually already have.  I wrote a short story.  Remember me saying sometimes you have to go out of your comfort zone?  I wrote my first steampunk/gaslight fantasy story.  Before I just couldn’t really vibe that whole subgenre, and I’m still not an avid fan of it… but if nothing else I think the story I wrote rocks.  But of course I would think that.  It’s making it’s way through my writer’s workshop, so I’ll get an idea of what the reading public will think in due time.  Meanwhile, after all the vacation time in the states, it just felt good to put thoughts into words and tell a story.

That said, it’s time to get back to more than just the War Journal.  Of course, when absurdity ensues as it surely will out here I’ll update… but for now every day is an identical twin to the day before and day after.  The War Journal will be getting real lean if I have to depend on my everyday activities, so I’ll wager I’ll just let you guys know when I get another acceptance letter and any other good news in my world of telling stories.  Besides, there’s still undiscovered pages of the Internet that I have to let you all know about via the Intelligence Report.  And Creative Combat Arms… well, that’s just me blowing hot air… but I need to do that.   It’s starting to get cold out here in Afghanistan.

And the Rant Grenade?   Well, I try not to be an angry sort.  But living the same day over and over again can’t help but bring the jaded cynical smartass out in most people.  We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a comment

Filed under War Journals

Leave a Reply

