War Journal 19: Littlest Fish Story

Not all fish stories are created equal

I’ve been understandably busy.  Being at home is like a ticket to Disneyland… fun with my son, sexytime with my wife, and going feral with the cat has left me with little time or inclination to update.  But it’s high time I share with you some success stories that have happened while I’ve been enjoying my time back in the States.

The day I left Kuwait, I sold one of my more recent stories, “.vic of Smut 2.0” to OG’s Speculative Fiction.  Stay tuned for the story behind this piece.  I know I can’t wait for it to debut in September… it’ll be nice to update my “Links About Me” section with more current stuff.

That’s not all.  Yesterday I got an email out of the blue from the folks over at Nanoism.  They publish twitter fiction… stories that are a maximum of 140 characters.  Back in December I wanted to challenge myself to see if I could write a story that small.  I sent off my little fish story and didn’t hear anything more about it.  Half a year later, I got an acceptance letter and a notice that they wanted to publish me the very next day.

I’m pretty pleased with it.  In my quest for pro acceptance I’ve managed to publish flash, standard short stories, and now twitterfic.  Check it out over at Nanoism.  Pound for pound it’s the highest grossing story I’ve ever sold, weighing in at a whopping 1 cent per character or 7 cents a word.  It’s not a big fish, but it’s enough to feed a starving artist.

2 Comments

Filed under War Journals

2 responses to “War Journal 19: Littlest Fish Story

  1. Brandon

    It’s definitely good to hear that you are succeeding. I’ll keep reading your post and wishing you well.

    Brandon

  2. Pingback: Intelligence Report: David Farland’s Daily Kick | fictigristle

Leave a Reply

