War Journal 15: The War @ Home

It's probably easier to write in a more comfortable environment.

I started this blog when I was waist deep in the middle of a deployment to Iraq.  Being away from home and deployment were major factors in developing the underlying theme of “war stories of a writer in the trenches”.  If nothing else, life on a forward operating base made me envision my stories as soldiers, the publishing houses as enemy fortresses.  I was their general, sending them out to do battle with the slush.

Every soldier since Odysseus has longed to return home.  And I’m no exception.  It’s time for me to get back to where I’m most needed.  My wife’s been supportive and understanding the whole time, even though I wasn’t around to take some of the burden of running the household off her shoulders.  My son was nine when I arrived here.  Now he’s eleven.  I’m starting to miss things no dad should miss. 

I’ve got a little over a week left in Iraq.  Then it’s home at long last.

The war for pro publication goes on.  Just in a more comfortable place than here.

5 Comments

Filed under War Journals

5 responses to “War Journal 15: The War @ Home

  1. Oh, I had no idea! Hope you are allright and don’t have to go back to Iraq once you are home. I cannot even imagine what is must be like to be in a real war. Not that I ever would want to experience that. You are right, the war for publication is a joke compared to a real war. Wish you the best!

  2. Stay safe, get home to that family, and keep writing.

  3. I really Think that blog post, “War Journal 15: The War @ Home | fictigristle” was good!
    I actuallycannot see eye to eye together with you more!

    Finally appears like I reallycame across a blog site definitely worth checking out.

    Thanks, Boris

Leave a Reply

