War Journal 32: Trench Victory

When you're this close to the other side, you can almost taste the magic.

My subscribers all know what I’m about.  I started this blog without a single pro sell to my name .  All I had was a dream: to be an SFWA pro.  Now I have more than what I had when I started… I just got my second professional level story sell.

That’s right guys.  Penumbra just picked up my story “Song of Passing Grief” for their Steampunk/Gaslight Fantasy Issue premiering in March.
Funny enough, this story and my submission to Penumbra all started with a rejection letter from them.  One of the nicest rejections I’ve ever gotten.  Their Acquisitions Assistant, Heather Shorten, said she really liked the story but it didn’t fit their upcoming themes.  Then she thanked me for the “wonderful read”.  I was so stoked I checked their theme calendar and a few days later I had the draft for my steampunk/gaslight story that I wrote specifically with them in mind.
If this is a war in the trenches, then this story was like a general in an airship.  It sailed right over the trenches and found a home first try with the publisher it was always meant for.  I’m assured that sometimes this happens.
I’m 2/3rds of the way to pro.  Just one more story, one, and my street cred rises.  I can add in my submission letters that “I’m a SFWA Pro.”  Of course, I’ll still get rejection letters, but they’ll be rejecting the certified best.
It’s all coming down to the wire.  And you saw it all as it happened.  Thanks for sharing the rises and falls with me.
Just like the first time I got my pro on, I’m going to celebrate with a song.  This is also for my wife, who I dream about daily.  I’m only a few days from going home on vacation to see her.  And going pro isn’t the same without her to share it with.
I’ll be back in the trenches soon enough.  Until then folks…
3 Comments

Filed under War Journals

3 responses to “War Journal 32: Trench Victory

  1. B.Seay.

    Congrats!

    Two-thirds of the way there and you’re still hungry for more. By the way, a beautiful song from a beautiful woman… that’s what I call a win/win! I never heard that before so I continue to learn from visiting this site.

    Here’s one of my favorite motivation videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SjbHJ28iec&feature=related

  2. B.Seay.

    Congrats!

    Two-thirds of the way there and you’re still hungry for more. By the way, a beautiful song from a beautiful woman… that’s what I call a win/win! I never heard that before so I continue to learn from visiting this site.

    Here’s one of my favorite motivational videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SjbHJ28iec&feature=related

  3. Pingback: War Journal 34: Headlines | fictigristle

Leave a Reply

